Elections

Edinburgh 2025

Notice of Election ELECTIONS TO 8 COMMUNITY COUNCILS

Wednesday 19 March 2025

In accordance with the Scheme for Community Councils, elections to 8 community councils will take place on 15 May 2025 to elect members to community councils in Edinburgh for a four-year term.

The 8 community councils are:

- Craigmillar
- Davidson's Mains and Silverknowes
- Firrhill
- Hutchison / Chesser
- Muirhouse / Salvesen
- Old Town
- Portobello
- West Pilton / West Granton

Persons wishing to stand for election to their community council must be 16 years of age or older, reside in the community council area and be named on the electoral register for the community council area in which they are standing.

A candidate's proposer and seconder must also reside in the same local area and be named on the electoral register. Individuals may only propose one and second one candidate.

Completed nomination forms must be submitted to the Governance Team by 4pm on Thursday 17 April 2025. Only those persons whose names appear on the electoral register on 6 January 2025 will be eligible to stand and vote at these elections.

Nomination forms and copies of the Scheme for Community Councils can be downloaded from the Council's website at https://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/community-planning/community-councils/3, local libraries or obtained from the Governance Team.

Gavin King Head of Democracy & Governance

Governance Team 2.1 Waverley Court 4 East Market Street Edinburgh EH8 8BG

Helpline: 0131 529 4494

Email: community.councils@edinburgh.gov.uk

Website: https://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/community-planning/community-councils/3

Dated: Wednesday 19 March 2025